Published On: Wed, Sep 9th, 2015

Bihar Elections to begin from October 12

Share This
  • Elections to be carried out in 5 phases
  • Counting of votes on 8th Nov

Election Commission today announced that Bihar Assembly Elections will be held in five phases starting October 12.

The Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said the second phase of polls in Bihar will be held on October 16, third phase on October 28, fourth phase on November 1, and the final phase on November 5. He said counting of votes to be held on November 8. The term of the 243-member Bihar Assembly comes to an end on November 29.
After ruling the state for ten years, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is seeking a third term this time in alliance with RJD and Congress after he walked out of NDA in June, 2013 snapping 17-year-old ties with BJP.

The Bharatiya Janata Party and an alliance of the Janata Dal-United and the Rashtriya Janata Dal that has the backing of the Congress are the main contenders in the polls.

Chief minister Nitish Kumar is seeking a third term after ruling Bihar for ten years. Kumar was earlier allied with the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance, with which he snapped ties in June 2013 after it projected Narendra Modi as its prime ministerial candidate for the 2014 general election.

The term of the 243-member Bihar assembly comes to an end on November 29. Around 50,000 paramilitary personnel will be deployed for each phase to ensure peaceful balloting. The availability of central forces finally decided the phases for polling.

Leave a comment