Published On: Fri, Jan 8th, 2016

BSP shocks BJP and Congress in zila panchayat elections in Haridwar

Share This

Haridwar: BSP with 16 seats has emerged the largest party in the 47-member zila panchayat the results of the elections of which were declared recently. The Congress with 11 seats came second while the BJP gave a dismal performance winning just three seats. Seventeen independent candidates who won the elections will have a major say in the election of the zila panchayat chairperson.

Last time, the BSP had 12 members, the Congress 11 seats, the BJP eight while 11 independent candidates had won. Then BSP and the BJP had joined hands and Anjum Begum of the BSP was elected the zila panchayat chairperson.

Congress heavyweight candidates Chaudhari Rajendra Singh lost from the Khandaja Kutubpur seat while his wife Kusum Devi lost from the Manakpur Adampur seat. Maharani Devyani, wife of Khanpur legislator Kunwar Pranav Singh, won from Prahladpur and is a front-runner for the chairperson post in case the Congress gets the support of independent candidates.

The BJP suffered a major loss as it could win only three seats while it had 11 seats in the previous zila panchayat. Now, the fate of the chairperson of zila panchayat is in the hands of 17 independents, out of which 10 are said to be close to the BSP.

BSP state president Satish Kumar had alleged mass irregularities in the counting of votes at the behest of the state government to ensure the BSP did not get a majority in the zila panchayat elections. The election results are now being seen as an indicator of the mood of rural voters. The BJP, which has appointed Ajay Bhatt as the new state party president, has its work cut out.

The panchayat poll results have also given a jolt to the Congress which was depending on Chief Minister Harish Rawat’s charisma for victory.

Satish Kumar at the Shivalik Nagar party office said the BSP won at least five seats less as the Congress misused the administrative and election machinery. He, however, expressed satisfaction at the party 16-seat victory.

Leave a comment