Published On: Thu, Jan 28th, 2016

Djokovic, Serena continue their dominance at the Australian Open

Share This

Sania Mirza- Martina Hingis reach finals of the women’s doubles

The insatiable hunger and desire to stay on the top is what separates the top ranked players from the rest of the field and World Number 1’s Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams and the team of Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis continued their dominance from last year at the Australian Open. Defending champ Novak Djokovic who looked out of sorts in this 5 set fourth round against Gilles Simon quickly regrouped to dispatch rising star Kei Nishikori who had famously beaten the Serb in the 2014 edition of the US Open. Like Djokovic, former world number 1, Roger Federer and 4 time Australian Open champion has also marched into the semis for the 11th time in the last 12 years.

 The Federer-Djokovic rivalry which dominated much of the tennis season last year currently is locked at 22 wins against each players name. The 34 year old Federer has been the only player of the ‘big four’ club to give Novak any sort of trouble in the last year and a half.

In Women’s draw world number 1 Serena Williams resumed from where she had left off last year to storm into yet another final down under where she continued her dominance against former world number 1 Maria Sharapova.

Indian tennis ace Sania Mirza and her Swiss partner Martina Hingis stormed into the final of the women’s doubles event of the Australian Open after notching up a comfortable straight-set win in the semis.

Sania and Martina, who are on a record winning streak, continued to rule the roost as they brushed aside Julia Goerges and Karolina Pliskova, the 13th seeds, 6-1 6-0 in just 54 minutes at Rod Laver Arena to enter their third successive doubles Grand Slam final.

The top seeded Indo-Swiss pair will take on the seventh seeded Czech combination of Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka in the summit clash.
The Indo-Swiss duo won the Wimbledon and US Open titles, before winning the season ending WTA Finals in 2015.

They continued their superb form this year, extending their unbeaten run to 35 with today’s semi-final win. They have also won back-to-back titles at the Brisbane and Sydney International events, before starting their Australian Open campaign.

Leave a comment