Published On: Mon, Mar 7th, 2016

Team India captures 6th Asia Cup Title

Share This

Defeat Bangladesh by 8 wickets

Dhawan, Kohli bring India their sixth Asia Cup title

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s three classy sixes helped India outsmart Bangladesh to script a famous victory in a rain-hit match and clinch the 2016 Asia Cup Twenty20 trophy at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on Sunday.

A thunderstorm and a Mahmudullah squall came in India’s way, but a calm chase from Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli helped India make light work of their chase of 121 that brought them their sixth Asia Cup title.

Dhawan and Kohli added 94 for the second wicket before MS Dhoni, who walked in to bat with India needing 22 off 14 balls, quite fittingly, polished off the chase with an unbeaten six-ball 20 as India won with seven balls to spare. Kohli’s credentials in run chases received another fillip as finished unbeaten on 41.

That the match took place was a miracle, given the amount of rain that lashed Dhaka 90 minutes before start of play. It was a typical spring time thunderstorm that created puddles across the outfield, but the ground was readied in just over an hour after the rain stopped.

8 consecutive away wins for team India

India accounted their third successive T20I series win, after earlier beating Australia and Sri Lanka in back to back three-match bilateral series. This Asia Cup victory was the perfect build-up for the Indians ahead of the crucial ICC World Twenty20 starting from March 8.

Leave a comment