Published On: Tue, Aug 9th, 2016

Pauri Platoons win Uttarakhand Super League 2016

Share This

Defeat Nainital FC Lakes 6-5 in penalty shootout

Dehradun: Pauri Platoons won the inaugural edition of the Uttarakhand Super League by defeating Nainital FC Lakes in the final. Played in front of a packed house both teams had surprised one and all just by reaching the finals. Pauri Platoons had defeated Dehradun Capital Rangers while Nainital FC Lakes had overcome Pithoragarh Panthers in their semi final match.

Pauri Platoons: The comeback team

The team of Pauri Platoons was all but out in the inital stages of the Uttarakhand Super League, but the players never lost hope. The team clawed its way through the semis before stunning title favorites Pithoragarh Panthers- (who were on an 8 match winning streak) 1-0. The team of Pauri Platoons didn’t have any marquee players in their ranks but that didn’t hamper their progress.

Pauri Platoons vs Nainital FC Lakes: The Grand Final

Nainital FC Lakes started the stronger of the teams going into the first half with a 1-0 lead. Nainital were oncourse to lift the trophy but a late equalizer from Pauri forced the match into a penalty shootout. Pauri perhaps drawing inspiration from their semi final victory were able to keep their cool and eventually win the match 6-5 in the shootout.

Award list of Uttarakhand Super League 2016

Category Player Name Team
Golden Boot (Best Player) Chepko (Tapago)-12 Goals Pithoragarh Panthers
Best forward of the tournament Bala Al Hassan -10 goals Dehradun Capital Rangers
Best midfielder of the tournament Rohit Gussain Dehradun Capital Rangers
Best stopper of the tournament Vikas Chhetri Nainital FC Lakes
Best upcoming player Bhupender Singh Pithoragarh Panthers
Best goal keeper of the tournament Ayush Rai Pithoragarh Panthers
Fair Play Award N.A Uttarkashi Glaciers

Leave a comment