Indian Test and T20I team announced for Australia tour; MSD not included

The 18-member Indian team has been announced on Friday for the four-match Test series to be played between Team India and Australia in November. Apart from this, the BCCI has also announced a 16-member team for the three-match T-20 series. The surprising thing is that MS Dhoni has not been included in the T20 squad.
Hitman Rohit Sharma who is in a sublime touch in the ODI’s has returned to the Test after a long time. He was not even included in the Test team against the West Indies. Earlier, he was not even part of the Indian team against England. At the same time, Murali Vijay, who flopped against England, has also returned to the team.

Interestingly Mayank Agarwal has been kept out of the list without being given a single match to prove his credentials. He was recently included in the domestic Test series with Prithvi Shaw but he did not get a chance to play a single match.

Test Team for Australia Tour

Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Parthiv Patel, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav , Jaspreet Bumrah and Bhuwaneswar Kumar.

T20 Team for Australia Tour

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvndra Chahal, Washington Sunder, Krunal Pandya, Bhuwaneswar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah , Umesh Yadav, and Khalil Ahmed.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the surprising name missing from the list. The former India captain has long bid adieu to 5 day format but is a regular in the shorter versions of the game. However, his finishing skills have waned over the past few seasons and man feel other players like Rishabh Pant should be given the chance to prove themselves.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.