Team India becomes first Asian team to win test series in Australia

Final test ends in a draw due to bad weather

India win the Border-Gavaskar trophy 2-1

The Sydney Test match between India and Australia ended on the draw due to rain. With team India won the series 2-1. At the same time, India has made history on Australia’s land. After 72 years, India has managed to overcome the Aussies and defeat them. This is also the first instance of an Asian team winning test series down under.

Cheteshwar Pujara, who made 193 runs in the Sydney Test, was the Man of the Match and Man of the Series. Pujara scored 521 runs in a four-Test series with 3 hundreds. India has won a series of Test matches for the first time in 72 years on Australian soil. For the first time since Independence, an Indian team has been successful in winning the Test series in this country. Team India, captained by Virat Kohli, has registered itself in the golden pages of history, because when the Test series was played between the two countries for the first time, the players of the current Indian team were not born.

While Australian batting was severely handicapped due to the suspensions of their premier batsmen Steve Smith and David Warner but it can take nothing away from the heady achievement of Kohli’s men, who have conquered an unchartered frontier with a lion-hearted display.

If this victory is put into perspective with some of Indian cricket’s famous away series wins, it will be right up there both in terms of novelty as well as quality.

Alongside Ajit Wadekar’s side’s twin triumph in the West Indies and England in 1971, Kapil’s Devils or Rahul Dravid’s sides’ winning the 1986 or 2007 series in England, the members of the current side have now successfully etched their names in record books. The final test too could have produced a result in India’s favor had the weather gods relented a bit.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.